A calendar solution to avoid simultaneous meetings w/spouse in COVID times

I’ve looked across prior questions and I don’t think this has been asked exactly, so here goes:

My wife and I live in a very small home and we share a kitchen table to work. We both have very active calendars and simultaneous Zoom calls happen frequently. This was fine in the summer as one of us could go outside to work, but now that it’s cold and rainy out, we need a better solution.

I’m not really experienced with shared calendars and the two of us have very different systems:

• She uses Outlook and people often book things on her calendar when she has an open spot. She also has about a gazillion little notes in her calendar to remind her of to-do items and/or what’s she’s worked on. This works well for her and is unlikely to change.
  • I currently use Apple Calendar (but pretty much have all the apps if that makes a difference) and I approve everything that goes on my calendar. I use two Google calendars (two different GSuite domains) for all my events.

Is there any solution/process/strategy available that would help us avoid booking the same time slots?

2 Likes

Could you subscribe to her calendar in an app you use and add your events to it? I use google calendars for myself but also have an office 365 calendar for school and subscribe to it in busycal.

That way others would see those times as booked for her. Could be some duplication of effort if you need to have events in your google calendar as well.

1 Like

Am I the only one who read the title and that thought you were trying to avoid your wife? :grinning:

11 Likes

LOL that’s hilarious.

4 Likes

I would echo either subscribing to each other’s calendar or having a separate kitchen table calendar that both of you can add events on. I’m more familiar with using the google calendar as the back end and can give permissions easily. She could subscribe to your calendar and you can giver her read/write permissions on it.

2 Likes