Advice on recording Mac screen for tutorials

Target is ultimately Youtube - seeing a lot of conflicting advice.

Looking for solid recommendations on settings, not software.

Should I use my Macbook Pro instead of my iMac 27" Retina? I’m confused about hardware native / Retina resolution versus scaled or display resolution.

Should I be screen recording in high resolution to preserve post-processing “punch-in” zoom options, or using lower resolution to maximize viewing on regular size screens / mobile devices by the actual final viewer/user?

Should I edit on a 1K or 4K timeline? Overlay a head shot of narration in the corner in post, or avoid it to keep it simpler?

I am not a pro but here’s my suggestion:

Use your iMac. In ScreenFlow recorder settings, select 2x of 1920 x 1080 i.e., 3840 x 2160.

Ensure that the apps you are recording are inside this region.

I use Moom for this.

You can directly publish the screencast to YouTube from ScreenFlow.

The resulting screencast will have good aspect ratio and quality.

Some of your questions are personal choice.

YouTube will compress and do things to make it work on any device, so record in a high a resolution as you are comfortable with, and let YouTube handle the rest.

How high a resolution are you comfortable with?
Higher resolutions take more dish space, which really multiples when you start backing up.
It depends on your audience’s expectations I suppose. I record videos for my students, and 1080 is fine for them. If I zoom in it gets more pixelated. No biggie.

I do a head shot at the start and end, but remove it most the time partly so I don’t have to try to keep eye contact. Plus it takes up valuable real estate.

1 Like