Apps to learn names

Hi everyone :blush:

I’ve posted about this before in the Facebook group, but I don’t think, I got a good answer.

I’m a teacher and I often have to learn a lot of new names of students.

I’m looking for an app that will help me do that. I’m thinking that an that has a way to import photos of students and then the ability to flip the image where the name is. If that makes sense :thinking:

I’m hoping to hear from someone who knows about an app like this or something similar.

Maybe use a flashcard app such as Anki or, a bit more complex, Studies?

3 Likes

Have you ever tried Anki? This is the best app, in my opinion, for learning anything. At first glance, it looks like nothing more than a flash card app, however, it is really a Spaced Repitition System. You can look up a more thorough explanation, but basically, it is a system that only shows you cards right when you are on the verge of forgetting. You tell it how well you know the card as you are practicing, then it will space it out further and further for when it shows it to you next. It can take all kinds of media- text, pictures, recordings. It is a really ingenious little program and SRS is the best way to get things into your memory. Lots of studies backing this up.

My explanation is a little sparse, but if you look at the website and for further info, it will make sense.

https://apps.ankiweb.net

2 Likes

I haven’t looked into it much, but I use chegg flashcards. Seemed good enough for me and that is where I stopped looking. Hoping to get some otherness ideas from this thread!

First assignment in my class is to submit a picture and preferred name which I then put into the app. As a bonus it makes sure they can access the LMS and submit assignments before it matters!

1 Like