Automator Question-Scrivener and Dropbox

I have never used Automator but I have identified a reason to create one. Once Shortcuts arrive on the Mac I may be able to replace this with a Shortcut. I’m a complete newbie with automation but this is a simple one, I think.

I want to have a reminder notification appear reminding me to run Dropbox every time I close Scrivener on my Mac.

I’m using Scrivener for long complex writing like white papers, a book, etc. But, I also do a lot of writing on these projects on my iPad. I need to have Scrivener synced with Dropbox whenever I’ve made changes on my Mac. I don’t need this on my iPad as it syncs but I seem to need to have Dropbox running to sync the Mac version of Scrivener. To avoid needless battery drain and resource utilization, I don’t want Dropbox running in the background all of the time to ensure that I don’t forget to sync Scrivener in Dropbox. I will forget without a reminder! :slight_smile:

I’m not asking anyone to tell me how to do this. I’m only asking; is it possible? If so, which of the options showing below do I select to get started? Thanks in advance for your kind help!

PS, I recognize that Scrivener will have to trigger Automator upon close.

Why do you not keep Dropbox running? (It’s rather designed this way)

1 Like

Off the top of my head, this would be quite hard in Automator (because it doesn’t really control applications in that way) and AppleScript (because Scrivener is not AppleScript-enabled).

OTOH it would be trivial to do in Keyboard Maestro (which is essential software for any Mac, IMNSHO…). All you would do is set up a macro with the short cut cmd-q to override the inbuilt Scrivener one, and the following steps.

1. Invoke the Scrivener Quit command
  2. Start Dropbox running.
  3. Print a message that you’ve done it.

That’s it – couldn’t be simpler.