Best alternative to standalone QuickBooks?

I used to use standalone QuickBooks when I was a full-time freelancer. Now I don’t freelance much, but I still have a small trickle of freelance income (mainly passive income, royalties, etc), and a few expenses related to keeping the business alive (web hosting and so on). And the occasional new job here or there.

QuickBooks has moved to subscription-only, which I don’t really mind except that my business income isn’t really active enough to justify the recurring expense. So I’m looking at alternatives.

What do you recommend? I’ve always used the standalone QuickBooks rather than the online version, but I wouldn’t be opposed to an online service if it isn’t too expensive. I just tried setting up a trial account with Zoho, but it gave me errors when trying to link to my banks, telling me to try again later, which didn’t instill confidence. (And I’m a bit turned off by their childish logo but maybe I shouldn’t let that be the deciding factor).

Anyone have a favorite business accounting software for the Mac?

1 Like

I started using Moneydance about 10 or so years ago. I’m the defacto to bookkeeper for my wife’s business. She used to use quickbooks but we switched away from it and I think Moneydance is excellent.

It’s cross platform and is quite inexpensive. I think I’ve had to pay an upgrade fee maybe 2 times all these years even though it is updated annually along with minor releases.

It’s been perfect for us and never let us down.

1 Like

I no longer need anything powerful but you might want to give FreshBooks a look. There are a lot of people looking to replace QB these days.

1 Like

Wave Accounting is free if you’re in North America (or grandfathered in from overseas)

1 Like

Xero.com - world class accounting in the cloud

1 Like