Best way for Power-users to Learn a little CSS

What is the best way for “normal” powerusers (those with no coding experience and minimal knowledge of html) to learn CSS?

I am a researcher, writer, and teacher and use markdown in lots of apps (Obsidian, Ulysses, iA Writer, Marked2 ect). I’m continually in situations where I need to modify CSS. I can tinker with snippets but I’d like to get the bigger picture. I don’t want to write this stuff from scratch but have a good understanding of how it works.

Does anyone have any recommendations on how to learn this stuff (I’m thinking 10-20 hr investment.

1 Like

I would like to learn the same thing, but for Discourse development. I am considering starting up my own platform. :grin:

I frequently turn to the W3Schools CSS tutorials for reference. They are not 100% comprehensive – but cover the basics and much more, with the benefit of interactive examples. Another option is the CodeAcademy CSS course.

Get a CSS editor. I use Espresso – it’s included with Setapp – but there are lots of alternatives.

Set up a project to experiment with and test the effect that CSS can have on an HTML page. Editors such as Espresso that have both editing and preview modes can help with that.

CSS is very powerful, but can be daunting if you are working with a complex CSS file. It is not a highly structured tool. If a CSS file does not have any comments or is not arranged in logical chunks it can take effort to chain through the cascading relationships between elements. To some extent the “Show page Source” option in Safari’s Develop tools (or similar in other browsers) can help by highlighting what CSS elements affect what portions of the page. The downside is sites like this MPU one, where the bulk of the CSS is machine-generated and is almost unreadable in raw form.

8 Likes

A very generic question, but if you have control over the CSS that you can import, then your best bet is Tailwindcss: https://tailwindcss.com/