Betas Betas Everywhere!

Two days ago I did something I have never done. I installed the current public betas for macOS Catalina, iOS 13, iPadOS, and tvOS. Have always waited for the actual release before installing any OS. Yes, everything was totally backed up beforehand. The reason I did this is because I am a college professor, and really wanted to road test Catalina BEFORE classes resumed in a couple weeks (the other betas were installed just because). Typically OS releases occur a couple weeks after classes start, which is normally not a problem, but with the death of 32bit apps this time around felt I needed to get a handle on what would and would not work with the new MacOS. Doing this has actually been really helpful.

On another note I have actually found doing some beta testing on the various beta OS versions kind of fun (yes, it is a bit geeky). After a few days of use a few minor issues, but overall seem to be pretty stable.

How did it work with the death of 32bit apps? Any big problems?

1 Like

Thus far no huge problems. The grading program I have used for years is 32bit and no longer works, but that program has not been updated or supported for about 4 years so it is not surprising. It was going to break at some point. Endnote, where I store my research literature database is also currently 32bit and does not work, but I know that will be updated prior to the formal release of Catalina so that is fine. Beyond that Mail seems to be leaving duplicate copies of messages sent to my primary google account in the inbox when they are either moved to the trash or to local folders by a rule. This is a minor issue. The News app has not really been functional on my laptop since installing the beta. News works fine on my iPhone and iPad so that is fine as well.

How is tvOS 13? Nobody ever mentions it…

I use tvOS 13 every evening and have had zero issues. It is the only one of the betas I have not submitted feedback for…yet.

1 Like