Cloud / app for syncing between Mac and PC?

Hello!
I’m a teacher. Most of the time I work with my MacBook Air M1 and I’m very happy with it. But I have a gaming PC with a very big screen and sometimes I prefer to do stuff with it.
Till now I used iCloud on windows for syncing but it started using 30-50% of CPU in idle all the time without any reason. As soon as I uninstalled iCloud all problems were gone. Besides, it doesn’t make a lot of sense for me to sync iCloud to my pc for those one folder I need for my Affinity apps.

Now I’m looking for another cloud or service to sync that one folder.

Dropbox is not an option, it’s on a downward spiral for years now and Onedrive is nice but it has multiple problems on Mac like constant syncing the same file and so on. Not to mention those naming hiccups.

Has anyone some suggestions what I should do? At the moment I’m copying my files by browser to iCloud but… no.

I tested iCloud for Windows a couple of years ago. Calling it a dumpster fire would be unfair to dumpsters.

I use Google Drive to sync my files using the Drive for Desktop app. Sync occurs almost instantly and the Mac app uses about 5% CPU when actively syncing then drops to 0.1. I never bothered to check the utilization on Windows.

2 Likes

I don’t know what you mean “downward spiral”, but my experience is that Dropbox solid on both Windows and Mac. Your mileage may vary. They have a free version if you can stay within the free account limits.

I also use Google Drive on Mac and I’m happy with it. Seems less expensive than Dropbox. I do not use on Windows. But give it a try.

Apple iCould is unreliable for many. I suspect it works well with Apple apps and especially those that have low demand on sync, e.g. Notes, Calendar, etc. But outside of that, … not so good in my experience which seems shared with others.

Of the options you list, Dropbox and Google are not connected with an operating system. Apple iCloud and One drive are. Perhaps some bias in these.