Do you subscribe to news services?

I am interested in gauging thoughts on whether Mac Power Users subscribe to a news service such as New York Times, Washington Post etc.

• Please share which ones you subscribe to?

• If you do not subcribe, which free sources do you rely on for your news?

• Do you consider whether the bias of the news service is aligned to you biases?

I do not subscribe to any particular news service. I get my news from the New York daily podcast, NPR and BBC and Last Week Tonight on HBO (because it’s amusing)

I am struggling about the biasness of these services.

Are you looking for broadcast-type shows or just any news in general? I’ve been subscribing to Apple News+ since quarantine states and have been pretty satisfied with the amount and quality of content because you can set up your own preferences and sources (at least of those that are available).

Also, yes, I have a subscription to NYT and that’s my go-to for credible reporting.

2 Likes

I think the best solution there is to intentionally read from both sides of the spectrum, with some fact-checking in between. So for example CNN plus FoxNews plus ProPublica results in quite a variety of viewpoints.

1 Like

I subscribe to the digital version of the Washington Post. Been reading it since I was a teenager in the 60s. I consider it one of the newspapers of record. Story reporting is accurate. For TV news we watch CNN & MSNBC usually. Also watch Daily Show and John Oliver for the humorous side. One study some years ago found that Daily Show viewers were more knowledgeable on current events than Fox News viewers. You have to know the news for the show to be funny.

My wife reads a lot of foreign news sources to get a different view. We have a friend that’s a retired German teacher and she reads German newspapers to keep in practice and get their viewpoint.

1 Like

For my main news sources, I subscribe to:

• New York Times
  • Washington Post
  • Wall Street Journal
  • The Economist