Email archive software

Hi all,

I’m shortly about to help a colleague sort out her emails. She is storing her entire email history on the servers at it is getting to the stage of causing Apple Mail to crash constantly.

I personally use DevonThink, but I don’t think that is the right software for her. Firstly, it is overkill in terms of what the software can do, and I think she would find the syncing tricky.

The two pieces of software I’m weighing up in my mind are Eagle Filer v Mailsteward.

I have some working knowledge of EF, and I know it can sync directly with DropBox, which will be a big plus for her: no tinkering necessary.

Would anyone put a strong vote in the other way for Mailsteward? I’ve never used it, but I have seen positive comments on here before. Does anyone know if it can be integrated with DropBox or similar? I’ve looked on their website but can’t find an answer to this.

I’d be very happy for the views of others.

Thanks very much

1 Like

I used Mailsteward Pro at work many years ago. As I recall it worked well but the MySQL database needed a little attention from time to time.

I keep my personal mail on Google but back it up with EagleFiler. EF keeps everything in a standard MBOX file that can be imported by Mail.app as well as most other email clients.

If your colleague has an enormous amount of mail she doesn’t have to import it to EF all at one time. If she, for example, imports one year at a time EF will search the entire Library as one file.

As noted elsewhere I use MailArchiver X.
Version 6 has a big speed improvement.