Excel on the Mac

Hi there,

Does anyone have a good resource for expert Excel skills and keyboard shortcuts while using a Mac?

I’m an accountant with my day job and use Excel extensively on Windows. I’m a fairly advanced user using quite a bit of keyboard shortcuts to navigate, enter formulas, etc.

My “free agent” job is accounting for other businesses and doing taxes. I attempted Numbers for 6 months but my brain is too wired for Excel in Windows for that to be a good solution. I thought switching to Excel on the Mac would solve everything but it’s been over a year now and I’m still no where close to what I can do on a Windows machine. I love my Mac and other Apple hardware so much but am really struggling with becoming super efficient with Excel on it due to keyboard differences and different shortcuts.

If anyone else has struggled with this or has a good resource I’d love to know.

Thanks!

• Nathan

This might seem like blasphemy but you can run Excel 2016 for Windows directly on your Mac with Crossover Office. No overhead of a virtual machine to slow it down. Just a thought.

2 Likes

@Nathan this may not be an ideal solution, but you can create your own keyboard shortcuts on the Mac. Assuming there is menu option parity between Mac and Windows, assigning the same shortcut may be a step in the right direction to help ease your transition. I hope this helps some – jay

In Excel 2016 for Mac, Microsoft made a real effort to make all the keyboard shortcuts from Excel for Windows work the same way on the Mac. Bonus: the traditional Mac shortcuts still work too! I use both versions and think that the Windows version is better, but I just can’t bring myself to use Windows when my Mac is available.

2 Likes