Extended keyboard recommendations?

Family member is looking for an extended keyboard for their Mac. Needs to be wireless, have a number pad, and, of course, be reliable. Any recommendations? Apple? Logitech MX Keys? Something else? Thanks.

I’ve been using the Logitech MX Keys for around six months and I really like the keyboard. It charges via USB C and can be paired with three different devices. There are three function keys that allow you to toggle between devices, be they connected via BlueTooth and the included USB dongle (the USB dongle is a USB A connection). The keys are also backlit.

Overall I have found this to be a very reliable keyboard that does not drop connection to the selected device. Both the USB dongle and BlueTooth connections have beeb very stable. The keys do not make a lot of noise when typing (I am not a fan of the mechanical keyboard ‘clicky’ sound) and I find typing on it to be very comfortable. I am not doing massive amounts of writing, such as long reports that run to several thousand words, but the documents I have had to write have not been affected by using this keyboard. I was using a Logitech K780 previously and I find the MX Keys a better typing experience. I found that I often missed keys on the K780. The keys on the K780 are round, with a dish/dip in the middle of each key. The MX Keys has square keys, although each does have a dish/dip in the middle. I find the square shape of the keys on the MX Keys easier to press and miss keys far less often.

Hope this helps,
Darran West

6 Likes

Appreciate that informative review—thanks Darran! The person looking for a keyboard isn’t interested in mechanical keyboards and isn’t doing much writing, so your comments are very helpful.

Currently typing on the Logi Ergo K860 and I love it. Connects via Bluetooth or USB-A dongle, just like the MX Keys. Not sure if it’s what you’re looking for though.

1 Like

Thanks. I’ll pass that one along as well.