Find a message in MailMate from link saved by Spark (iOS)

I am just getting started with Spark on iOS and would like to continue using MailMate on the Mac. Given this, I am looking for a way to get from a Spark url (e.g. when I move a message into OmniFocus) to a message in MailMate.

(Background: I am reluctantly moving away from Dispatch for mail on my iPhone given the lack of updates and some things that are not meshing with my current workflow and am giving Spark a try.)

My current workaround is to run Spark on the Mac as well and let the links open the messages in Spark. I might eventually move to Spark, but there is a lot I like about MailMate and I would prefer to stay with it.

I have inspected the link spark creates and the URL bears no resemblance to the message: url used by Mail.app and MailMate. Unless I missed it, the messageID which is needed for MailMate is not visible in the Spark url.

It also looks like there is currently no way to get the messageID of an email message via Spark. AppleScript support is limited to getting the title and the spark link (as far as I can tell).

I am curious how other people handle this. Here are the alternatives I am currently considering:

• use Spark on Mac (default approach)
  • maybe I don’t need this function as much as I think I do since the full text of the message is included
  • a less direct, klugier automation, to wit: