Finding a *little bit* of extra work without compromising what you currently have

Hey folks! Hope you’re well.

I don’t know whether this is a common problem or not, but if someone has a bit of experience in this area I’d be really interesting to hear some advice.

I’m 22 years old and I’m a free agent straight out of university, working as a freelance musician. My main revenue stream is currently amazing. I transcribe music and turn it into sheet music. This allows me to travel as much as I need to, work as much as I like, and unlike most music jobs, it has a far more “free agents” kind of set up, in that it involves being at a computer at home for the bulk of it.

I love this job, and the lifestyle that goes with it, but even at my maximum capacity, it only covers about 80% of the amount I need to bring in every month. What I want is to pick up some kind of work that is similar in nature (home-based, relatively casual hours-wise) but also doesn’t compromise how I currently live with too many commitments. I don’t wanna get rid of everything I’ve worked for over the last year just because it’s falling slightly short, and curious if anyone has experienced something similar.

Thanks everyone, and I love the show.

I would suggest that you look for opportunities within the field of audio and music. You already have these skills, and probably the equipment to deliver high quality files. I am thinking about editing podcasts, voice recording (and possibly background pads and voice-over for video), for corporate clients.

Doing the audio work at events and conferences could be another - not from home, but also not an everyday task. Check with a local businesses that rents AV gear if they have an opening.

It will not be the most exciting work, but you will learn a lot that will be transferable to your music career. “Wax on, wax off…”