Getting Started with Omnifocus 3

Hi guys! I’ve been using Things 3 for the past 8-10 months and I love it. But I keep hearing about Omnifocus 3 and how cool it is and it also seems like everyone else wants to use it to Automate things.

I downloaded it and I am doing the 2-week trial, but I genuinely have no idea how to get started (I’ve never used an Omnifocus product before).

Does anyone have any advice on where to begin? I am mostly using it to organize graduate classes, coaching soccer teams, running a leadership program for high school kids and personal tasks. Or from the sound of it, is Things 3 perfect and I am overcomplicating for the sake of curiosity? Thanks everyone!

1 Like

https://learnomnifocus.com/ as well as Tims workflow interviews on youtube.
Also the omnifocus discourse forums are good.

@MacSparky has promised a new version of the OmniFocus field guide once OmniFocus 3 for Mac releases (though you may be beyond your free trial by then).

2 Likes

Welcome to our world…

2 Likes

Can you please link to the OmniFocus Discourse Channel? I’ve been trying to find a good source for great channels, in addition to this one.

Thanks!

1 Like

@tylerstrauss I have the same problem I don’t know what does what on OF3, but I just started using Things 3 also and i wish I could find a good tutorial about that also. It’s hard.

1 Like

The Sweet Setup has a course available for Things 3 - don’t know how good it is bit it seems to cover its use well. Different prices for different options.

1 Like

If you have a Lynda subscription (maybe through your local public library?) you can watch MacSparky’s training courses for OF 2 there. 95% I’d say is still applicable.

1 Like

I have loved Things 3 so far. Simple layout. Just curious to see a. what else is out there and b. perhaps attachment support and automation options

Thank you! This worked perfectly!

The course is great. Shawn Blanc does a great job showing his process and how Things works.

1 Like