GTD ca. 1900-1930

Predigital techniques getting ideas and observations out of your head and out of the way somewhere safe until you have time to process them. The entry about the farmer is exactly like GTD/OmniFocus contexts.

1 Like

I carried a notebook everywhere for years…and as much as I love my iPad, it hasn’t been able to replace the tactile pleasure of writing on paper.

4 Likes

I hear what you’re saying about the feeling of writing on paper. I kept notes that way for decades - right up until the day that I started carrying an iPhone. I still miss having that paper in my pocket. I also still have many of those old paper notes. Don’t ask me to find anything in them. At least with the phone I know what it is that I’m not getting done (sigh).

1 Like

I do understand your point.

The Apple Pencil and PaperLike made it a bit more natural though.

1 Like

As a farmer I really loved the farming entry. FWIW even with my iPhone with me all the time I STILL carry a notebook and pen everywhere. I use them together, for example, see a leaking gate on the irrigation pipe, Pull out my phone to take a picture so I remember where it is and add a note to fix gate in pipe to my notebook.

I use LambTracker to enter in all new lambs but I also enter the vital data (date of birth, dam, ear tag number, sex and weight) into a pocket notebook in my lamb bag as a hard copy backup of vital information for every new lamb.

Notes in my regular pad get torn off and added to my inbox when I get back in and processed daily into my Omnifocus GTD system.

The salesman example reminded me of a Farley File application. I use that in my Contacts with a group that is called Farley File to which I add anyone I can.

I do have some more permanent notebooks, a diary, a sketchbook and one that tracks all the books I’ve read and any notes about them. I love to go back and peruse all of these but they are not usually carried with me all the time.