Hazel Help with rename dates, next, last, previous etc

I’m trying to set up a set of rules that renames various bank statement and bill PDFs so that no matter when I download them they are renamed to format YYYY-MM-DD_rest of name.

What I want is to look in the PDF and find the statement date, whose format varies, and then use that in the rename.

Alternatively I could accept Hazel renaming using the format --_

Is there any way to specificy the previous month as the date or the last day of the month or read a date in a different format and then use it like a variable? I’m brand new to attempting to get Hazel to do stuff and I can’t seem to find it in the help info.

Without actually knowing a solution, you can execute JavaScript witchin the conditional of a hazel rule, I think so you could do some regex to find the correct date?

https://www.noodlesoft.com/manual/hazel/attributes-actions/using-applescript-or-javascript/

I would think that what you are looking for is the rule “Contents” and the criteria “Contain Match”.

When you select those options, you get a pop-up to create a template for the match. The way you might use that template is to put in some sort of text that will match whatever text precedes the statement date in your statement, followed by the “custom date” element.

For the custom date element, you can either let Hazel autodetect the date format (that’s a checkbox), or built a date template with the format used in the statement (uncheck the autodetect option and options for building the date template will come up).

The key here is that you can give the custom date element a name, which you can then use later on in your actions as part of the rename process.