If you write AppleScripts, give Script Debugger a try

I write a lot of AppleScripts, and for many years I used the free built-in Script Editor from Apple.

I used to look at Script Debugger wistfully from time to time, and tell myself ‘One day … one day I’ll find an excuse to buy you.’ Eventually that came to pass, and let me tell you, once I started to use Script Debugger I kicked myself long and hard for having waited so long!

The difference is night and day. Everything about Script Debugger is so much better than Apple’s Script Editor, I really don’t know where to start (live inspecting of variables as a script is running? The Object Model Explorer for really understanding how to script an app?)

So if you write much in AppleScript, check out the demo. I :heart: Script Debugger, and you will too.

8 Likes

I’ll second this. The Object Model Explorer alone is worth more than the purchase price.

I’ve been using Script Debugger for probably ten years. When I first got it, I had been struggling trying to figure out how to get a particular task done for hours, I think in iTunes. I just couldn’t figure it out, hours of frustrating trial and error. Then I got Script Debugger, and I was able to zero in on the solution in less than five minutes, with no trial and error.

It doesn’t hurt that I’ve met the Mark Aldritt, the author, a couple of times at WWDC, and he’s a very nice guy. But even if he wasn’t, Script Debugger is a no brainer if you want to do anything serious with AppleScript.

Oh, by the way, there is a discourse discussion forum for Script Debugger.

1 Like

Here’s a bit of Trivia for you — one of the most AppleScriptable applications on the Mac is Adobe Illustrator.

(I use Illustrator’s scriptability almost every day in my work)