IT Manager Workflows

I was inspired to post this by reading some similar posts but wasn’t quite what I was looking for. Most of the guests on MPU and other similar podcasts on Relay FM are writers or coders. I haven’t really seen any IT Managers or someone in a similar role.

10 months ago I became an IT Manager and was overwhelmed by how different the job is. I knew it would be different. I love my role but before that, I was an engineer and had good use of tools and workflows that allowed me to excel. Now the job is different and not sure if I’m utilizing the best workflows and curious about how others do it.

I do work off strictly windows but have an M1 Macbook Pro. I was using an iPad but moved back to a Macbook. I would like to use my Macbook more but it is a BYOD situaiton

1. Task Management: Outlook Tasks that feed into ToDo. Developed this workflow years and years ago. The email comes in and gets moved to Tasks. Use ToDo to feed them into specific “folders/categories”. The folders/categories can be related to specific direct reports, projects, departments, or offices.
  2. Planner - Team project management/Every project over 2 hours
  3. Notetaking - on my windows machine OneNote for everything. On my Mac, I use Bear for non-work-related items
  4. Power Automate & Power Platform - I enjoy creating automation and currently doing that with Power Automate. I have a couple of flows that I use to help manage the team. I am lost here on finding the best automation as a manager. Before it was easy to automate things I do on a repeated basis.
  5. Use Toggl for time tracking to get an understanding of what I do to help look for automation or things I can delegate

Looking to see if there are any other IT Managers out there and how you work and what tools are you using to get the job done.

It’s 8 years since I managed in IT, but from my perspective there are two types of work, Proactive and Reactive.