Keyboard Maestro with no experience with automation, scripts?

I’m working on a significant book project. A critical part of the project is consolidating, linking and synthesizing my notes and research articles. To facilitate my move to the “next level” in doing so, I purchased Kourosh Dini’s book, Taking Smart Notes with DEVONthink. I’ve been using DT for sometime but I do not have a good system for linking notes, research, and ideas. I’m already finding Dini’s book valuable.

He recommends, explains, and even provides Keyboard Maestro scripts with his book. I do not have Keyboard Maestro but I’m willing to purchase it if I believe I will benefit from it. Here is my dilemma, I have no experience with automation or using scripts. I barely use shortcuts and when I do they are very simple. I don’t have time to master automation but I would like to follow Dini’s recommendations. Based on your experience with KM, would it still benefit someone like me based on what I just shared? Any advice and insights will be deeply appreciated! Thanks in advance.

You can judge for yourself from the list of macros (below) included in v1.3 of @Kourosh’s publication, but IMO over 80% of these macros are useful for manipulating the DEVONthink interface but not essential to following his recommended Smart Notes process. Many of the macros are just faster ways to use existing DEVONthink commands. Some macros are pointless since they requiring opening the macro menu to do run a script that does exactly what DEVONthink keyboard shortcuts do. Others will be irrelevant soon as DEVONthink updates its feature set. (Can’t say more about that.)

So, no, you do not need to purchase KeyboardMaestro and distract yourself from the core learning of his book. You’d go down a rabbit hole and neglect your writing.

2 Likes