Keyboard Shortcuts

I’ve been using a Mac on and off now for probably 12 years.

Today I just discovered the CMD+` shortcut for switching between app windows, after years of getting frustrated that it doesn’t follow Windows Alt+Tab!

It’ll take some getting used to after years of just Alt+Tab, as I still use Windows alongside.

Are there any other shortcuts people have spent years without knowing?

4 Likes

That was The One for me too!

The one I discovered last year was ⌘⇧/ to show help menu, then type to search menu bar item. I discovered that after 2 years of using office’s MBP.
One of the reasons I switched from Windows to Apple desktop as my personal computer!

7 Likes

My own is just how useful a hyper key is (i.e. a single key that replicates command-shift-option-control).

I was getting fed up with trying to remember which global shortcuts were command-option-space vs control-option-space, etc. Instead, I have set up a hyper key and switched all my global keyboard shortcuts to be hyper key based, including:

• hyper-f: Fantastical input
  • hyper-c: Cardhop input
  • hyper-p: 1Password unlock/search
  • hyper-d: create a new Things task
  • hyper-g: open a specific folder in the finder (via Keyboard Maestro)

I’m sure I’ll add to this, but it’s been a fantastic improvement already.

3 Likes

This is great. I knew about the menu shortcut but, I didn’t realize you could type to search. That makes it much better.

1 Like

These have probably been mentioned elsewhere, but:

key function
⌃a jump to the beginning of a line of text
⌃e jump to the end of a line of text
⌃t transpose the two characters on each side of the carat (cursor), so ‘tihs’ becomes ‘this’
⌃⌘. show/hide hidden files in Finder
8 Likes

Oh man, that transpose shortcut is great! Never thought to try it outside of a terminal shell.

3 Likes

[shortcut question/request]
anyone know how to close Emoji Picker (by default summoned by ⌃⌘SPACE) using keyboard?