Mac Mini now or wait?

Waiting for delivery of new Mac Mini + separate 32 Gb RAM for self upgrade. New ARM products were announced at WWDC on Monday, and apparently Mini will be the first to upgrade, but who knows when? I can limp along with current Mini for a few months, or bite the bullet now and upgrade. I am not a developer or programmer. Mostly photography/photoshop, etc.

Should I bite the bullet and keep the Mini I ordered or pull the plug and wait for new models?

1. No-one knows when the Mac Mini will be revā€™d with Apple Silicon, although the perceived wisdom is that it will be early, nothing was promised yesterday.
  2. How long would you expect to keep a Mac Mini you buy now

The longer you plan to keep it, the longer I would be willing to wait, but if you need a new Mac Mini now, Iā€™d buy one. Intel should be supported for at least 3 or 4 years.

I canā€™t really help but having a similar dilemma so keen to hear what people suggest. Iā€™m thinking of switching my current setup to a MBP 16 but itā€™sa huge cost if arm is going to be worth the wait. My concern is that I use boot camp for occasional gaming and my (limited) understanding suggests that is unlikely on the arm models so it would put me off for the initial models at least.

Fwiw I have a Mac mini 2018 with egpu as my main machine at the moment and I love it, just think moving to as good a spec mbp would give portability too.

Plus I want to buy something shiny.

1 Like

Mini boxes were used as loaner dev boxes because it was the easiest & cheapest way to provide an ARM box to developers. But there is no guarantee that Appleā€™s lowest-end, lowest priced, possibly lowest-margin machine will be updated to ARM in the first wave of new machines. (Apple similarly offered a transition kit in summer 2005 with an Intel Developer Transition System box in a PowerMac case that too was required to be returned to Apple).