MBP 14" M1 Pro vs. MBA 512 GB 8 GB RAM

I have been using a 8 GB MBA with 512 GB SSD for the past several months and have really liked it. I do notice my memory pressure getting yellow when I use it under standard conditions. I’m not sure how that will be over time (e.g., more intense applications requiring more memory years down the line). This computer is a replacement to a 2012 Mac mini which I still have as a backup. I plan to keep this computer at least several years (as long as possible).

I have an opportunity to return my 8 GB MBA and purchase a 14" MBP M1 Pro 16 GB and 512 GB SSD for what would be a difference of about $550. Do you think it would be in my best interest to do this? If it would allow me to function for a few more years with the laptop as my main computer, I think that would be worth it.

My computer uses are slightly above “average user”. I use Photos quite a bit, do some fairly task-intensive web browsing, use apps like MS Office, Obsidian, OCR, and generally have quite a few apps open at one time. I’m not creating 4k videos as a profession, but do feel that I am sometimes already pushing the limits of the MBA 8 GB model.

Any thoughts on the situation? I’m not looking to blow $550 unnecessarily, but maybe some computer longevity would be worth it.

If you do upgrade to the 14" my advice would be to get more memory if you can. I know it’s really expensive with Apple charging a ridiculous amount for memory, but I recently upgraded from a 13" MBP M1 with 16 GB to a 14" MBP M1 Pro with 32 GB and 512 SSD and the difference is very noticeable to me in terms of memory.

I’m a photographer so I do spend a lot of time in Lightroom and Photoshop and I do some light video work in FCP (not 4K). My old 13" M1 would give me out of memory errors all the time, but with the extra memory, I rarely see them anymore.

In my case, I could only afford to pay for more RAM or a bigger SSD so I chose RAM. Hard drive space can be expanded with external drives.