Notes app keeps deleted folders stored, but not visible. How to delete them? [SOLVED]

I’m using an Obsidian plugin that imports Apple Notes and it accesses this folder to grab all notes:
~/Library/Group Containers/group.com.apple.notes

I only have these 2 folders on my Notes app:

But when I use the plugin it imports all of these folders that are obviously folders I created in the past and deleted them, but for some reason Notes still has them saved somewhere, even though they are not visible in the app, but the Obsidian plugin is reading some file in that ~/Library/Group Containers/group.com.apple.notes folder that still contains that information.

How can I completely delete these entries?
I’m guessing that if the plugin is able to access this information, so can I?
I’m not an expert when it comes to this, so if you know how to do it, take that into consideration :wink:

EDIT: Found the solution. Here it is:

If you show hidden files and folders in Finder (cmd-shift-.), you may be able to look around and find the folders, then delete them. But be careful not to inadvertently delete any folders or files you may need later.

I already have it enabled, but the folders are not Finder folders. They are most likely saved inside a file. For example the “Journal” folder that I see in both Notes and Obsidian, is not a Finder folder I can just “delete” manually.

This seems like some sort of database or something, but when I open the sqlite file I can’t seem to find anything related to them…

Hmm. Hopefully someone who knows more about Apple Notes than I do will jump in and help you. Sorry!

Someone who knows enough javascript might be able to look at the source code of the Obsidian exporter utility (which iirc is open source) and figure out what it’s doing and where it’s grabbing the folders from.

1 Like

You might ask on the Obsidian Discord in the plugins section.