Online Database Support

Hello All,

While not necessarily a Mac or Apple specific question, I’m hoping I can pick the brains of all the smart people in here. I am a tech advisor for a local museum. One of the museum’s functions is maintaining a Hall of Fame directory for the paper industry. Our current website is a Wordpress site where we have all the existing members of the HOF and you can sort by year inducted, last name, company they were associated with, etc. This instance of the site is too complicated for the staff to understand and we want to update it to something nicer. The page I’m referring to can be found here.

My question is if anybody has done something similar with a website? Any ideas on how to implement this on a template based system like Squarespace or equivalent? I’m open to ideas, and the simpler the management and future inductee addition to the site, the better.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

What is meant by “too complicated” and “nicer”? Are the changes that are needed to mitigate the issues and make a “nicer” site not possible to implement in Wordpress?

By example, I see six different categories of content in a table of contents on the left (history and mission, announcements, database content, …). Three of them lead to step-wise (offset) scrolling in the right frame. The other three links each open their own page (totally destroying the ToC). Why are the main table of contents links causing different types of actions. Why are they each not causing the page to scroll or (my preferred) each causing a new frame to appear while maintaining the table of contents on the left? These would be my specific reports to why the page is “too complicated” or “not nice”.

If this type of issue is part of what is meant by “too complicated”, can the required changes be implemented in Wordpress or not?

JJW