Overcast vs Apple Podcast?

I have been using Overcast for many years and I am happy with it. I have no compelling reason to change. However, I’ve been pairing down the number of my applications. I am wondering if there are any advantages to using Apple Podcast over Overcast. I will be buying a new car for my wife in March and whatever I buy will have Car Play. In addition, I have a MBP, iPad Pro 12.9, iPhone X, Air Pods, Apple Watch S4, two HomePods, and two Apple TVs. I also have four Amazon Echos. I listen to Podcasts most days during my evening runs (Air Pods paired to my iPhone X)-I don’t download Podcasts to my Apple Watch (should I?) and on long road trips.

I am assuming (may be wrong) that there is tighter integration with Apple Podcast and all of my Apple devices vs Overcast. Is there enough difference to make a meaningful difference or provide a reason to switch to Apple’s Podcast app? Any downsides to Apple Podcast vs Overcast?

I think that at the moment the main advantage Apple Podcasts has over Overcast is it’s integration with Siri. You can ask Siri to play an arbitrary episode of any podcast and it will work. However, iOS 13 brings this capability to developers. So, it may be coming in the future. The other way around, Overcast’s main advantages are: smart speed, over 2x speed (Apple podcasts only goes to 2x) and password protected feeds.

Edit: the watch should definitely be a better experience with Apple podcasts (I haven’t tried it) but Marco has mentioned it is something he is working on.

I use both as a matter of fact. I think Apple has better integration though I haven’t tested it hard. Though Overcast works as well as I need a podcast app to work. Since iTunes is going to be drastically altered with Catalina, I would wait to see how it works later in the Fall. Air pods work well with both I found, about the same. If would find it hard to make a choice between the two. I did think of doing so several times and ended up keeping both.

1 Like