Search Engine Preference

I have been using Google since my beginnings on the web. Here recently I have thought about switching my default search engine on iOS.

What do you all use to search the web?

I switched from Google to DuckDuckGo about a month or two ago. Unfortunately, I’m finding the results aren’t nearly as good. Your mileage may vary.

Google. Privacy sucks, but the search results are the best.

I did bing for a while cause the rewards points are pretty good, but like the others, google has the best results, or at least the results I expect.

I’ve been using DuckDuckGo for a few years, long enough that I can’t say how it compares to Google these days. The goods thing is that Safari on both iOS and macOS can be set to use it as the default search engine.

1 Like

DuckDuckGo and if I can’t find it !g brings me right to google. Best part is definitely the bangs and privacy.

7 Likes

Duck Duck Go with !g as a fallback as well.

1 Like

DDG here, too, but I find I need to use the g! very often to get to what I was actually looking for. Especially for tech stuff.

That’s why, using the KISS principle, I just stick to Google. Why use 2 search engines?

1 Like

I use Google for all my searches, but just open an incognito or private browser to do the search. That way it’s not tied to my Google account, and I still get the best search engine in the world.

I read that even using incognito mode doesn’t stop Google from tracking you, correct?

Google will still have your IP address. There’s nothing to stop them from noting that they received an incognito mode search query from a particular IP and that IP is also logged into, say, gmail as a particular user.

Duck Duck Go. I like the anonymity.

2 Likes