Seeking developer advice (another note taking thread)

Hello,

As developers, which note taking app do you use?
Is syncing and availability across devices important to you?

I have been playing around with OneNote (work uses Office365) but miss the markdown a great deal.
For those of you that just use plain text, what is the structure behind the notes?

Any thoughts?

The never ending search for the best Note taking app continues.

Thanks
vitoc

For me, your two questions are interrelated. For notes that I want “close at hand” (and synced) I use Apple Notes (1-I’ve never gotten aboard the Markdown bandwagon, and 2-I don’t use Notes for taking notes, just for storing them; actually I don’t really take notes these days, in the sense of meeting notes etc). Other material lives in files & folders on my dev machine (an iMac Pro).

I seem to be in a minority now as I have used EverNote since it came out. I don’t have any issue with it. I’m a developer and it is my external brain. I used it all the time, everyday. After using it for so many years for free I used to worry about them going out of business and loosing my go to tool. I pay for their entry level pay plan and definitely get my moneys worth in the value it provides to me. I don’t store a ton of attachments in there but tons of notes, screenshots, etc. The web clipper is excellent.

Syncing is important to me as I work as a Windows developer by day, have an iMac, MacBook Pro, and iPhone. Its syncs across all of those platforms with no issues for me.

There are so many choices today, I’m not sure I would start there, I would have to do some testing. I don’t know if a plain text solution would work for me, it would have to have good image support as as I have a very large volume of notes with screenshots. I also have a large number of web pages saved for reference.