SQLite Database Philosophy Question

Just musing out loud here.

What are the pros and cons, as you see it, of enforcing foreign key limits in complex sqlite databases?

Playing with whether to do that within LambTracker and can’t seem to find out much about why you would or would not use them. SQLite has FK constraints turned off by default but no one seems to explain why. Best info I’ve found is that it can make inserts slower as the constraints have to be tested each time. Best reason I’ve found for doing it is that it requires the database to maintain more integrity and you can’t quickly fix some errors without filling in all the dependent table data.

I’m by no means an expert, but I have always though that maintaining referential integrity via foreign key constraints is one of the main reason to use an RDBMS for anything nontrivial?

That’s sort of my understanding too. I’m wondering if because I’m running on a small mobile system whether the overhead of the indices is the reason it’s not usually done?

OTOH I can see cases where it would be faster to collect the data for an insert in the field and manage the links later. Sometimes when working the sheep you just need to get it done and fix the records after the fact. Case in point. LambTracker maintains a full record of all drugs given to a sheep. That’s fine when it’s something the farmer does. But we had a case where a vet came out in an emergency and treated a sheep. I ended up taking all the data on the drugs etc. down on paper and adding it in later because I couldn’t add a drug on the fly and then give it. Plus it really was a life or death situation, not the time to be struggling with accurate data entry. Sadly we lost the sheep anyway but it is an argument for not requiring FK constraints.

1 Like

In such a case as that, maybe the app could have a workflow (perhaps implicit/automatic) to add a new drug as part of its tracking?