Stupid question: iCloud = Backup, right?

If I’ve got iCloud activated everything in the iCloud drive, including the Documents folder, is backed up continuously to the iCloud cloud? That’s what iCloud is, right?

I get that this shouldn’t be my ONLY backup — I should use Time Machine and some form of offsite and/or cloud backup, and probably SuperDuper too. But iCloud can be part of the backup regime, right?

I told you this was going to be a stupid question. I was right about that, wasn’t I?

Hello,
I am using it as my only Backup solution. I was using Arq and B2 for some time, but iCloud proved to be good and enough for files.

That being mentioned, as a developer my code is also backed up in Git repos.

No.
Cloud sync should never be viewed as a backup. It’s not, it’s your working copy. Anything you do gets replicated everywhere. Especially mistakes.

Backups are distinct. You can have a cloud backup, but it’s not what iCloud, Dropbox and so on are designed to be if they’re your live copies of files.

12 Likes

To reemphasize:

1. If you make a massive editing error in an important document, that error will be replicated to iCloud, so now they are both corrupted!

2. If you accidentally delete a file, it will be deleted in iCloud too, so now the file is really gone!

3. Without real backups, either of the above conditions is now permanent!

10 Likes

You need to check this box in iCloud preferences:

and turn this one off. (It’s poorly worded – what it means is when the box is not checked then everything in iCloud drive is also stored on the Mac.)

4 Likes

I think you’re quite right, I would not consider this a backup in the strictest terms, though it’s worth having in-place to supplement your “real” backup processes. The more redundancy you can build in the better.

1 Like

The Apple iCloud backup you have for iPads and iPhones provides a very good backup of virtually everything on your device. There isn’t, however, an equivalent for MacOS.

2 Likes