The Dashboard - What the heck do you do with it? (Possible show idea)

While I’ve been a computer user / developer for decades, I’m relatively new to macOS having purchased my first MacBook just a year ago.

I’ve gotten a pretty decent feel for the macOS and its apps, except for one thing: the dashboard. When I go off to the left boom there’s this little pallet of a few apps.

I have a feeling this could be useful to me if used properly. I’m not sure what the most effective way is, however, to make the dashboard a helpful productivity tool. Any dashboard apps I should be looking at? And where do I look for them?

Thanks

1 Like

While I’m sure some people use it daily, I think Dashboard’s best days are behind it. It’s off by default on new macOS installations, and I’m honestly surprised Apple hasn’t removed it.

The Today view in Notification Center has taken over these types of tasks, as many Mac apps offer widgets to place there. There’s hasn’t much in terms of new Dashabord widget action in years.

1 Like

Apple has tried the “widget” thing at least twice and it has flopped every time. I have Dashboard turned.

I tried it for a bit, but there’s so little useful functionality I gave up the idea and disabled it again. Menu bar items seem to suit the desktop environment better for me (I don’t even use Today on my Mac for some reason)

Dashboard is dead, vestigial tech. Haven’t enabled it in I don’t know how many years. Surprised it’s still around.

It seems like a good idea, a place to the side to keep notes and miscellanies. I have a dozen stickies on mine from 10 years ago, never use it, and forget it’s there.

I will be sad when Dashboard is removed. I have some sticky notes with my Life Goals on it that I like to be able to glance at easily. I also have a countdown timer set to countdown to my 85th birthday to remind me of how precious and limited our time is.

2 Likes

the what? swipe left? what?