Totally don't know what to do

At present, I own the following: 27" late 2013 iMac, late 2019 16" MacBook Pro (32GB, 1TB), 2020 M1 Mac Book Air, 32" 4K Philips monitor. I am a university professor who needs two setups, one at home and one at school. Retirement is not far off, though, and instead of having two machines to take care of, I would like to have just two to manage. I’m thinking of trading in the 16" Intel MBP (Apple will give me 82,000 yen for it ($720) - I live and work in Japan) and getting an M1Pro 16" (32GB, 2TB) and hooking that up to the Philips monitor. The concern I have is with the trade-in value of my 16" Intel MBP. Though I could keep my present set-up and wait a year until more shiney things show up, I imagine my MBP will have lost significant value by then and my overall cost will be higher (assuming the new shiney things still cost a sweet penny). Should I buy now or wait? Any advice would be appreciated.

Can’t you trade the 16” now and do not buy immediately? The M1 MBA is a more capable device anyways.

4 Likes

I think your instinct to sell the Intel Mac now is correct, whether or not you buy now. (Though I’d hope you could get more through a private transaction on Craigslist or Nextdoor, etc.)

This could just be confirmation bias. I sold my iMac Pro nearly a year ago and have been in an unsettled state of computing since, waiting on the new iMacs.

1 Like

I decided that I prefer an iMac at home and use an older Air for travel. I sync everything via iCloud so all my data is on both machines. Previously I had used the Air with an external monitor but found it too much of a mess of cables.

I carry my 2019 16in intel MBP between three locations: home, office, and vacation residence. I have three nearly equivalent 27in monitors, one in each location.

One question you might face concerns keeping your university work isolated (private) from home work. I use two login IDs for this.