Video Production on Subpar Machine

Hey all. I have a question. My current Macbook Pro is the early 2017 non-touchbar (MacBook Escape). I am currently a pastor at a small church in Illinois. The current Covid-19 crisis has caused me to have to do MUCH more video work than I was doing before this. I’ve done a lot of it in other places were have lived but not here till now. I am getting more and more spinning rainbow wheels and lots of fan noise and just strange things going on with this machine. Because of the reality we now face, I believe that once we can come back together in social situations I will have to continue to produce video content in some form. My question to you today is this: Is my machine adequate or should I seek to sell it off and replace with something more powerful? What say you? I’m currently live streaming some via Facebook as well as doing some prerecorded video messages and then editing music and other video parts into them. I use iMovie because it’s what I have right now. So what help or advice can you give me? Thanks so much. I’ve been absent here for awhile just due to life. Have a good one and stay healthy.

I think @Wolfie’s suggestions are good. Before going too deep into possible repair, you might want to create a new user on that machine and log into that user rather than your normal account. See what the performance is at that point.

Also, how’s your hard drive space looking?

You might consider “upgrading” your MacBook Escape to an iPad Pro and use the Luma Fusion app for your video editing/production. Don’t laugh - this is a serious proposal.