Well Designed mATX Cases

I’m considering building a computer soon for basic NAS functions and some docker containers to ease my poor little Raspberry Pi but I’m not really thrilled with many of the mATX cases i’ve found online. I would like to have something that looks nice on a desk but many of the cases I’ve seen lean hard into the RGB/Gamer glass builds that frankly don’t appeal to my design tastes. Now I could just get some Fractal Design case and tuck the PC away somewhere, but if I’m investing the money in a PC, I’d like to use it for some desktop work/light gaming (I’m a college student so space isn’t really something I have either). I thought the MPU audience would share some of my feelings about what a nice computer looks like so I thought It’d be worth it to see if anyone had any suggestions…

The Hyte Revolt 3 doesn’t look too bad but it’s ITX and I’d like more than just one PCIe x16 slot. I also don’t hate the Jonsbo D30 assuming it has an extra side panel that isn’t glass.

I suspect you would spend less money and a whole lot less effort and achieve better reliability and function buying a used Synology NAS

What do you see as the benefits of building a DIY computer instead?

1 Like

I built my own PCs from the mid 80’s through the 90’s, at which point I decided it just wasn’t worth my time or effort. Frankly, if you want a sensible computer just buy a business (not consumer) PC from HP or Dell. No flash and simple. I used one for several years as a server as well until I went 100% Apple.

1 Like

I would’ve suggested Jonsbo or maybe CoolerMaster with RGB ripped out. Have you seen Sliger cases?

You might also find an internally modded old Mac on eBay or be up for doing it yourself.

1 Like