Which home mac?

I am a backend developer (mostly Java) and use a Big Boy 15” MBP with six cores and 32gb ram at work, and when I need to work from home or I need it for something I’ll take it home.
However I almost never take it home on weeknights, and have been using a chrome book whenever I just want to surf while watching Tv or something.

Recently I’ve decided to either replace or add to the chromebook with a Mac, and my first thought was the MacBook Air 2018. As I said if I really need power, it’s available to me at one days notice.

But then this Mac mini episode comes along and gives me doubt. I already have a full set up for the work machine with several screens, keyboard, mouse and all that Jazz.

I don’t need a home server, I have a FreeNAS box which serves Plex and all kinds of other stuff already.

And then Of course I slide from the Mac Mini to the iMac, because wouldn’t a 5K screen be nice, even when working from home?

The end game is that since I don’t really need power, a used 5K is actually not that much more expensive than an Air, though of course it is more expensive than a mini. Of course I will have to keep using the chrome book on the couch, but that’s really not that bad.

I’ve looked at 5K displays, and they just suck compared to the iMac, so if I get a 5K that’s how I’m gonna get it.

Oh, and I have a ps4 for games, and I do some Paradox strategy games on the mbp, but not enough for it to have any influence on this decision.

Thoughts?

For getting work done in a home office setting, nothing beats the 27" iMac IMHO. The 5k screen is so nice, plenty of real-estate to view large sets of data / documents / detailed photos or illustrations… (I guess the iMac Pro would be even better, but out of my budget.)