Yubico Key with NFC

Everywhere I look people are being scammed, friends family, reading it daily in the news…

Even though I am a good 1password user and use 2FA, I am thinking of buying a yubico key with NFC.
Has anyone any experience ? Is this overkill ? am I being paranoid.

Good write-up of some of the issues on the Mac/iOS side: https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2020/07/apple-has-finally-embraced-key-based-2fa-so-should-you/

1 Like

That’s a good article. I wasn’t aware of the support added this year.

Generally, while I think the move to hardware keys is a good one, you only need to take that step if you don’t trust your 2FA code app, or don’t trust yourself or others on the account to not inappropriately give out the code. A secure 2FA app on a phone can’t be intercepted without gaining physical access to the device, unlike SMS.

Yes, I’ve been doing this for a few years now. Well, not the NFC ones, but Yubico in general.

Maybe? If you’re already using 2FA, I’m not sure that you get a whole lot from a physical security key, unless you are willing to go to extremes that most people won’t want to go to.

As far as I have seen in any of the places that support security keys:

1. If you don’t also use a 2FA app like Google Authenticator, Authy, 1Password, then you are relying on this one physical device to allow you access to your accounts. Which means that you need at least two of them, because what are you doing to do if you lose it or it just stops working for no explicable reason? You need a backup. One is none.

2. I’m not even sure that you can use only a security key without some other 2FA, either an app, or backup codes, etc.

3. So what you are doing, in reality, is saying “This security key is my primary way of authenticating to your 2FA challenge system, but if I don’t have my key, I can still use one of those fallback methods, such as one of the authenticator apps.”