+1 Vote for PDF Squeezer

I have a 3Gb 8800 page set of PDF records I need to share with a staff member in another state

The file was to big to open on her Windows computer

I read this week about a Mac app called “PDF Squeezer” on SetApp which reduces PDF size with minimal impact on image quality

I gave it a try - it took about 90 seconds to run and reduced the file down to 96 MB - that is a reduction factor of over 30:1

Readability of the squeezed file is excellent

This is stunning

6 Likes

Thanks for the tip, @rkaplan! I’ve never used PDF Squeezer before, but could definitely see it being useful. It’s amazing how many gems like this are included with Setapp.

1 Like

PDF Squeezer is just great.

It is one of the apps I did not know about before I discovered it on Setapp and that I bought in a heartbeat when I canceled my Setapp subscription.

PDF Squeezer is able to achieve an impressive grade of compression without me being able to discover any signs of any degradation of quality. It is much more than just a UI for quartz filters (that also could be applied using ColorSync): it has become an indispensable PDF tool for me that I am using for almost any file I share via email or the internet.

4 Likes

that is impressive. I believe both PDF expert and pdf pen can optimize file size but may be not as good as pdf squeezer.

Based on the recommendation, I just bought and downloaded the app and tried it. I did not have a 3GB file to test but 175MB pdf catalog, it reduced that to 56.3MB. The second file I tested was a 123MB pdf ebook and it compressed that to 9.7Mb (very goood !!!)

2 Likes

I find that playing with the settings after a few weeks is worthwhile to dial in the exact level of quality vs size that you want.

2 Likes