104: Sleep and Sabbaticals

2 Likes

After my wife told me this morning that I need to take a day or two off my day job to just rest and do some of my projects that I put off, David shares about his Sabbatical experience, Jason Snell uses the post to prod people to take some time off, and then Mike and David post their discussion on this topic. If this is meant for 1 person, I think itā€™s me today.

2 Likes

An honest question from a non-lawyer for @MacSparky: Are all lawyers like this? Really, no offenseā€¦ but working every day even when on vacation seems a littleā€¦ absurd (?) to me? I meanā€¦ you need some time to recharge, donā€˜t you?

1 Like

As a lawyer myself (although in-house at a large company with other attorneys available to me), I can see how a solo-practitioner with a practice like MacSparky describes would find it difficult to take time off. Legal work is rarely work you can plan out - clients come to you last minute with an urgent deadline or they have a fire pop up that needs legal assistance. Being the attorney means that they need you to help them formulate the right strategy, add a level of seriousness to a response, or just assure them they are on the right track and keep them out of hot water. Some practices may allow for time off because the work is always planned in advance (like a real estate closing attorney who has closings scheduled and can plan the ahead to just not have closings during that time). The other part of it is that attorneys have ethical obligations to your client that other professions do not have or are not as stringent. For instance, if Iā€™m your attorney, you expect me to be there for you when you have an issue - and itā€™s not as simple as just hiring another attorney if Iā€™m busy or not available when you need me like you would an accountant or plumber.

3 Likes

Yup ā€¦ as @justinbradleysc says so.