2021 Scanner Recommendations for DT

hey MPU,

Does anyone have a scanner they recommend for getting documents into DevonThink?

My last scanner that I got was the Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i and it is no longer with me.

Hoping for something that also works with Monterey as well and more down the line.

I would look for any printer with a scanner that has a feeder on it. Business class scanners will do scanning on both sides of a sheet - Epson look to have a good range, but I’ve found the scanner on my Canon printer does the job admirably and I rarely have double sided documents to scan.

1 Like

Fujitsu recently released a ScanSnap ix1300. Specs look good but haven’t seen or used one. Wireless or USB scanning in a small package.

I have been using Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 for 15 years, never give me any issue. I believe they now have a newer model but overall based on same technology

FUJITSU IX500. No doubt. I still use ScannerPro and SwiftScan Pro for one off scans on the go. But if I have to scan for archival I use the trusted ScanSnap and OCR it.

1 Like

I have been quite pleased with my ScanSnap iX1600.

I understand some people felt abandoned by ScanSnap in the past, but I decided to take a chance and I’m happy with the results.

The first thing I did was scan 20+ years of tax returns and documentation; each year was easily over 50 pages. The process worked flawlessly.

For the OCR functions, you will want to read the documentation. At first, I felt there were a lot (too many) of working pieces, but once I read the manual, the OCR functions work great.

I don’t notice any real speed differences when using WiFi scanning rather than via USB.

If you are scanning the files to DT3, I think you can leave the OCR to DT itself. I am too lazy to read any manual :joy:

1 Like

Have a look at the Brother DS range of scanners. They’re similar to the Fujitsu but quite a bit cheaper (about half the price of Fujitsu here in the UK).