523: State of the iPad

How does the iPad fit into your workflows and tech life?

After listening to this episode, I blew the (metaphorical) dust off my iPad mini 2, 2013 model. Not sure if Iā€™ll continue using it. Itā€™s cramped, and doesnā€™t hold a charge long. Still, I do like the light weight and how easy it is to hold. Maybe, as @MacSparky says, for reading?

As a journalist, my work takes me to a lot of professional conferences, where I do interviews, take notes on presentations and write articles. I found last year that the iPad 2018 was fine for that function, paired with an external keyboard. I had to cut a few corners but that was more than offset by light weight and long battery life. I still carry the MacBook Pro with me when I travel, but it stays in my hotel room.

Iā€™ve mentioned this before, but Iā€™m a huge fan of the base iPad, and bought one for myself.

I do feel like if the iPad is someoneā€™s main/significant device for work then getting the Air or Pro is worthwhile, but I also strongly believe that the base iPad should be the default option for most people. It is wonderfully fast for everything I do on it (with Graphic and Sketchup Viewer probably being the most demanding)
One of the great things about the common perception that the iPad is overpowered is that 2-3 year old processors are still very capable.

Looking forward to this one as an iPad first user. I use a pro and mini in my day to day. Editing podcasts, blogging, note taking, editing photos, reading, colouring, consuming. I do 90% of my day on an iPad. (Outside of having to use a windows PC in work of course LOL).