530: Working From Home

4 Likes

I love the Interrupting Cow!

4 Likes

I smiled when I read the “combined decade of experience” thing. “Oh, really?” I said to myself. “A whole combined decade, huh? Is that a lot?”

I’ve been working mostly from home for the past 28 years. :slight_smile:

However, it was as good episode and I enjoy it.

These days I love MPU even more as a means of taking a break from the grim headlines, and this episode met that standard. Two thumbs up!

7 Likes

Very timely episode — can’t wait to listen as I’ve found myself in this situation!

1 Like

Can I just give a shout out to the turn based card game Exploding Kittens.

They have a terrific app for iPhone and iPad and other devices as well. It’s a hilarious card game and I’m loving it.

Playing it simultaneously with friends every night

We should randomly seed 16 name ideas for the Mac Cave and have the Internet vote them through a tournament bracket.

I nominate the Hack Shack.

That would be Clarus the Dogcow. History of Clarus the Dogcow.

Here’s a thought and question, around Zoom and headphones/AirPods.

Couldn’t agree more that headphones are critical, to cut out the feedback from computer speakers. My headphones of choice are of course AirPods Pro.

But I have found in all the Zoom mtgs I have been in that people using AirPods as their microphones sound terrible compared to the built in mics of their MacBooks. Yes, the built in mics sound farther away, and have more ambient room noise, but the compression on the bluetooth AirPods sounds like an old-school phone call, while everyone else sounds much better.

Has anyone else noticed this?

My workaround is to change my audio setting in zoom. I’m using my AirPods as the Speaker, but the built in mics as the Mic option. People seem to appreciate it!

2 Likes