65: Hyperfocused with Chris Bailey

5 Likes

Ok, this bit was so good I had to pause the podcast to write it down:

“Be effective with the things that are most important. Be efficient with everything else.”

9 Likes

Great show, and I didn’t mind all the meditation talk. I was very regular with my Zazen practice about 4 years ago and have let my habits wane, and this show made me miss that “zeroed-in” focusing feeling I used to have when I practiced meditation frequently.

I’ve been doing TM for about 18 months. In year one I religiously got in 20 min every AM. I never miss it but sometimes curtail my time so I can exercise more. Days like today I think I should just get up a few minutes earlier to maximize time for both

1 Like

Yeah. I’ve never really felt I had the right forum to discuss it on a podcast but I kind of unloaded with Chris.

Strangely, in next week’s MPU episode (on health and fitness apps and tracking), I stray into again, but much condensed.

4 Likes

One app that’s new but has some pretty good reviews is Waking Up (created by Sam Harris who’s book by the same name is excellent). You’ll also find productivity “gurus” like Tim Ferriss have cited meditation as one of the most common recommendations by high performers from the people he’s interviewed for his podcast.

1 Like

Useful note for anyone concerned about the religious implications of meditation, in particular the interface between the practice and your own religious affiliations; meditation - much like prayer and worship - is a practice independently used across most religions, and can be included within the context of your own faith (or no faith). While not commonly talked about, meditation has a long history of practice in a Christian context, you can look at the history of the desert mothers and fathers.

3 Likes