A high school teacher’s 12.9 iPad Pro setup

A high school teacher’s 12.9 iPad Pro setup

Hi all,

I work as a high school English / English as a second language teacher, and I thought I would share some workflows in case anything I’ve learned over the years might be useful to someone else.

While I think there’s a broad recognition that Google has really been owning the education space from the device management / cloud software / student side, I think there is a relatively untold story about how excellent the iPad is specifically as a teaching device.

Let’s start with some hardware thoughts, then enter the Dock, and finally dip into the folder on the side.

Hardware

The essential thing here is that the hardware actually fits the nature of my job better than any laptop does. The aspect ratio matches a projector (which will likely still be true in 20 years—VGA never dies); the flat, document-sized screen allows me to easily conference with students about their work, and perhaps most importantly, the pencil support allows me to use the screen as a true blackboard replacement. We have some special projectors in the school (so-called “SmartBoards”) that do the same thing, but those are rapidly becoming outdated, I can face students as I annotate and think aloud, and obviously the software driving all this is superior.