A question for Post Grads and Academics

I am about to embark on a Masters. For context when I did my Bachelors degree there were no computers outside of mainframes. I wrote every note and every essay long hand. My dissertation was written on a Wang word processor so it could be handed in as a typed document.

I am looking for advice as to what might be the best software to help me in my new endeavour.

In terms of note taking, note keeping, reflective journal I was thinking Obsidian. I am relatively familiar with it. However, I have just started playing with Logseq - which I really like, but it does feel like an either or with Obsidian. I have also started to look at Notion (having resisted the call of the you tubers for a a long time.) I am impressed, but I wonder if it is better for organisation and filing, rather than active note taking and study.

I am doing the masters part-time while I work. That means I wont have a huge amount of time to fiddle-faddle trying out lots of different software (and believe me I would) I need to get a system and make it work.

I would be great to hear your thoughts and experience.

Nick

EDIT: Happy to be told that my current software thinking is way off

1 Like

Well, my best advice (but full disclosure: my grad work a while back), is if you like Obsidian, use Obsidian. Focus on your learnings/courses/thesis and use what makes sense for your needs as they develop.

2 Likes

Honestly, if I were you, Iā€™d take lecture notes by hand, and transfer them to the computer or use a tablet. Your brain is used to that, you can concentrate on hearing and putting things in your own words (which helps recall/retention).

But Obsidian is fine. Anything you know how to use and donā€™t have to constantly tweak is fine.

You will want a good .pdf reader and annotater, which can be preview on the Mac.