Advice--Grammarly: Install or Web Only?

I have a Grammarly subscription paid for by my employer. I’m trying to decide if I want to use the web interface only or install the app on my Mac and iOS devices. I hesitate to install the app because I’m a stickler about doing what I can to avoid building up cruft on my devices. While it is a minor inconvenience to copy and paste text into the Grammarly webpage and then to copy and paste it back out again, this is better than unnecessarily gumming up my system.

But, on the other hand, I may be concerned about something needlessly.

Advice?

On the Mac, I prefer the web interface. I use the app on my iPhone and iPad and it works quite well for my needs.

There is also the Grammarly keyboard that I’ve played with on my iOS devices. I’m undecided if I like it or not, and use it only occasionally for that reason. Have you used that at all?

3 Likes

I have not but I’ll give it a look, thanks!

I’m not sure if you have Keyboard Maestro or not (I found a post from you asking whether you may benefit from it), but if so, you could create a macro to select the text, copy the text, open the Grammarly webpage, create a Grammarly document and paste in the text to be checked (as well as tapping any buttons in Grammarly to run the checks), all with one button press. You could then do the same again to copy the checked text back to your original document t.

I don’t have Grammarly so I can’t test it, but the idea should work.

I use Grammarly Desktop regularly (e.g. to proof an email before sending it and to do a grammar check on a proposal in Pages). I find it much more convenient to use the native Mac app as there’s no copying and pasting involved and formatting remains intact.