Affinity Apps Worth Buying On Sale?

On the last episode, the guys talked about the crazy sale for the Affinity apps.

https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/

I’m not a designer, but always have a copy of Photoshop Elements for little things here and there, and Keynote for decks or presentations, which don’t come up that often.

Would love to get the hive mind’s input - at the current Affinity sale prices, it seems crazy not to buy something, just to have, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever use it. So, two questions:

1. Is it worth having Affinity Photo on the iPad, even if the interface would be all new to me?
  2. Is it worth having Affinity Publisher to use instead of Keynote, even if I’m not actually “publishing” anything?

All in fun,
Rich

I haven’t had a chance to play with it much.

Allison Sheridan over at podfeet.com has written a few blog posts on the various Affinity products.

Allison also did some screencasts on Photo over at ScreenCastsOnline.

I bought them on sale hoping I’d use them, especially on iPad, but the differences between Photoshop/Illustrator and Affinity mean I could not really work anything out without Googling it. I eventually gave up when Photoshop for iPad came out, and went back to Adobe, because I didn’t want to re-learn 20 years of experience with Adobe. Also, I don’t pay for Creative Cloud, my employer does.

They are great apps but need a large investment of time to learn. It was taking me too much time even to do simple things. This was only Photo and Designer, I’ve not tried Publisher.

I’d start with learning the most commonly used tools and workflows that will be needed.

We have the basic concepts down. It’s just trying to figure out where the tools are that will take time. It’ll be worth the investment.

I would definitely take 20-30 minutes out of each day to learn about a new tool. It could be one of the books the affinity web site sells or a screencast tutorial from Udemy or Lynda.