Alternative eBook Readers iPad apps

I’m curious if folks have suggestions or know of any good eBook reader apps besides Kindle or Apple Books?

I’ve been using Marvin on my iPad for several months now and really like it yet it appears it has not been updated in ~4 years. I love Marvin’s integration with Calibre.

Was just wondering if there were any other options out there (open source or otherwise) besides the big two??

http://www.appstafarian.com/marvin.html

I hear a lot about the Kobo e-readers. They seem alright. I personally have a kindle for the sole purpose of being able to sync with Readwise.

Kobo now syncs with Readwise as well.

April 2022 update:

1 Like

for epub/mobi, Marvin 3 is the best.

Yomu reader is another alternative but not nearly as powerful as Marvin.

I have a Kobo Clara HD which I installed KOReader on because it has some cool features like a dark mode (dark background, light text)!

But Kobo’s stock OS is perfectly good.

Best thing about Kobo: can load your own ePubs.

KOReader’s documentation is pretty good but I might write a tutorial on my site at some point.

Will it ever be updated? I’ve emailed them with zero response

I use Yomu (for reading ePub/PDF now and then):

It’s a universal (Catalyst?) App for iPhone, iPad & Mac that is still regularly updated.

1 Like

I read the most books on iBooks, and Kindle, just because the other reader normally were not able to handle the digital rights management.

1 Like

I used Gerty for the one class I’ve had with an eBook with great results. If I recall, for basic use, there’s a bar on the edge to remind you to buy the full version that is really easy to ignore. The rest of the features looked nice but I had no need in my use case.