Alternatives to Obsidian for basic PKM (Craft? Ulysses?)

I’ve used Ulysses for blog posts and Bible study for years. My wife uses it too now, so the subscription is becoming indispensable for us. It does a lot of things right.

I also use Obsidian for my knowledge management. I’m a freelancer with a bunch of clients and tons of work happening at once. Mostly, what I keep track of is a daily log, my meeting notes, normal notes, and client indexes. I am bad at keeping up with the indexes, though.

Yesterday, I went looking for a meeting note in Obsidian and couldn’t find it. The search just killed me. I couldn’t remember the name of the file — just the person at the meeting. That person has been at many meetings, and Obsidian just refused to show all the results for their name.

I also tried the same search in Craft (where I had a duplicate of this note and several others during a 3-month experimentation period), and I found the note instantly. The search was 10x better.

This made me realize something important: I like Obsidian conceptually, but I don’t like the software itself (I never have). I begrudgingly used it because it seemed useful as a knowledge tool. But for the way I use knowledge tools, it tripped over itself yesterday. Therefore, I’m either using it wrong or it’s not meant for me.

So now I’m considering my other options.

Here’s my basic folder structure:

• Daily Notes
  • Meeting Notes
  • Notes
  • Potential Projects
  • Active Projects
  • Completed Projects

I thought about just creating a folder for each project with a subfolder for meeting notes for that project, which would have solved my problem yesterday. However, some meeting notes may not relate to a specific client or project, or may relate to more than one client or project. So I need tags for this feature.