Any cable modem experts out here?

I have a problem with a network that frequently loses internet connection. The LAN network is 100% OK (Ubiquity Pro USG + 24 Port POE switch etc. I spend a lot of time trying to find out why the internet connection clunks out during heavy traffic. For example, during the morning Peleton virtual bike race and late-night x-box gaming…

Recently I had a less severe situation solved by the cable technician who determined that the signal strength was too high, and after he installed an attenuator, the problems disappeared.

The problem is that this customer is an Xfinity residential customer for whom its hard to get intelligent tech support other than resetting the modem and power cycling it…

The modem is Docis 3.1 compliant, and the contract is for Gigabit speed.

I am a ham radio operator, and when I compare the values obtained from the Modem to the information I found online, I have a hard time interpreting the differences if any.

We are hoping that there is someone around here who can have a look at these results and let me know if the signals are within specifications and what corrections to make if we are not.

THANKS

https://postimg.cc/m1yWqbMw

I would recommend you also ask this question in the Mac Geek Gab forums.

This is the kind of problem Dave and John live for.

(or email the question to feedback@macgeekgab.com)

1 Like

Thanks, I will create an account later today.
I also asked the question on DSL reports and Small Net Builders.

You mention you think it’s a modem issue but then you talk about attenuation which would be wireless lan.

Are you sure you know where the problem lies?

Have you checked your WiFi channels with a site survey?

Yes I did and it also happens on the wired (Ethernet) connections.

And yes signal strength also applies to the RF signals transmitted via the coax cable…