Apple Watch as pedometer

I’ve been counting steps for several years now. I started out with a Fitbit One, which eventually died when I dropped it once too often. I replaced it with another Fitbit, but then decided to buy an iWatch.

I do a weekly shop on Friday’s at a local market (South Melbourne Market for any other Melbourne residents out there. Melbourne, Australia…) The market is two stops away on the light rail, and walking around the market usually racks up a fair few steps. Up until recently Fridays were the one day where I could reliably get to 10,000 steps every week. Since I switched from Fitbit to Apple Watch this has not been the case.

I push a shopping trolley around the market, and after some weeks of being disappointed by the step count I was getting after switching to the Watch, I discovered that pushing the trolley two handed caused the Watch to seriously undercount steps. If I pushed the trolley with only one hand (the one whose wrist doesn’t host the Watch) step counting worked fine. I can only assume that the algorithm that interacts with the gyroscope in the Watch expects the user’s hand to be swinging freely.

When I used the Fitbit it was in my pocket, but while at the Market I use the watch to pay for groceries, so putting it in my pocket wouldn’t work for me.

I haven’t been to a gym for years, but I would imagine that the same thing would occur if you went to a gym and used one of those walking machines with handlebars.

While swinging the arm is part of it, my understanding is the main factor the Apple Watch looks for in counting steps is the heel strike (the momentary shock when the heel hits the ground). The effect of grabbing the shopping cart would be much the same though. Because your hand is fixed to the cart, the watch can’t sense the input it needs to register a step.